Leaderboards: Frequently Asked Questions

In this article, you will find some frequently asked questions about Leaderboards, as well as some tips and tricks that will help you better understand the Leaderboards feature.

Q1: Why is the “Instructor” Leaderboard, for example, hidden from the users?

All Leaderboards can be selected to not be visible. If you want to make a Leaderboard visible, go to the Social Workspace, select Leaderboards on the left navigation panel, and select Manage Leaderboards. Here, turn the relevant toggle to Yes.

Screenshot_3.png

As an example, if you make the Instructor Leaderboard visible to your users, they will be able to find it under My Profile→ Leaderboard. Once clicking on the Instructor, they will be able to see the points that they have earned for this specific Leaderboard.

Q2: Why are the points awarded for the Instructor Leaderboard although I had previously set it to “invisible”?

Ιf you set a leaderboard to not be Visible, the members of your academy will not be able to see it. The points will not be counted to the total Academy Leaderboard score. However, the relevant points will continue to be calculated in the background. That means, that if you decide to reactivate the leaderboard, the points will be properly awarded to users, retroactively. 

Q3: I don’t want the points related to the Instructor Leaderboard to count to the overall/total score of each user. How can I achieve this?

Click on the edit icon next to the Instructor Leaderboard: In the form that arises, uncheck the checkbox shown below and don’t forget to Save your changes: Once you apply this change, all of the points related to this leaderboard will not count for the overall score of the users.

Screenshot_57.png

Q4: I had disabled the Instructor Leaderboard from counting to the overall score. However, now I changed that, and the users were awarded previous points. 

Ιf you set a leaderboard to not award points, then the points from this Leaderboard will not be counted to the total Academy Leaderboard score. However, the relevant points will continue to be calculated in the background. That means, that if you decide to reactivate the points award for this leaderboard, the points will be properly awarded to users, retroactively. 

Q5: The academy Admin marked the course as completed for this user, however, the points were not awarded.

Users get points only for their own activities. They will not get any points for actions made by an admin/ manager.

Q6: The user re-attended the course but no additional points were added under his profile.

If a user visits a lecture for a second time, no points will be awarded, although the time spent will increase.

Q7: How is the total time spent related to the total awarded points? 

In most cases, the total time spent will be the same as the total awarded points. The only cases that the time spent is not proportionally associated with the points awarded are the following:
• if a student visits a lecture for a second time, no new points will be awarded, although the time spent will increase.
• if a user fast-forwards a video the points awarded will be solely for the real-time of their attendance.
• the user gains credits for an activity that is not time-dependent (such as "Completing a web embedded lesson")

Q8: Why is the Academy score different from a leaderboard score? 

Each user has a score for each one of the leaderboards and one overall score. The overall score counts the awarded points from all leaderboards in total. That means that all of the users have the option to see:

  • their overall score if they go to My Profile

  • The points for each one of the leaderboards, if they go to the Social Workspace and go to Leaderboards.

Q9: Will my learners collect points from previously completed work?

No. Points awarded through games or any activity that awards points are not applied retroactively. Points are only awarded from the time the activity or game is set up.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful