When you create a group, there are several functionalities you can use to edit it to your liking and tha will allow group members to collaborate and interact with each other. To manage the group settings, go to the Social Workspace, select Groups from the left navigation bar, and go to Group List.
Find the group you want to manage in the main space and select Manage.
Settings Under the Group Panel
Under the Group Panel on the right, you can change some of the basic settings for the group. Let's go over these in some more details.
Here you can change the basic settings for the group, such as the title, description, categories, member permissions and visibility.
Group Images: Use this tab if you want to upload an image for your group.
Polls: Use the Polls tab to create polls within your group and get feedback from the group members.
Add Members and Send Invites: Add group members or invite them to join! For more details, please check the following article: Adding Members To Groups
Edit Badges: You can create a new badge, edit an existing one or delete a badge that you do not need anymore. See more under: Awarding Badges
If nothing is configured for a specific email notification on the Group page, you will see the following message “Currently, this email notification is being sent out based on your academy’s general notification settings. Any change in the following settings will only be applied for this specific group.”. This way you can distinguish which notifications are configured on a Group level for this Group and which are not.
Once a change is made on a notification on the group level, then any change made on the academy level for this notification will not be applied to the specific group. From that point, only the configuration options made on this notification on the group level will define how and if this notification will be sent for this group. In this case, you will see the following message "Currently, this email notification is being sent out based on the following settings, which are specific to this group.” which means that any changes made on the Academy level will not be applied for this notification on the Group level.
At the bottom of each notification, there is a button available, the “Restore to Academy Settings” button. By clicking this button the email notification will be restored to the settings configured on the academy level. This way you can restore the notification back to the academy level. Once you do this, any changes made on the Academy level will also be applied for this notification on the Group level.
Settings Under the Top Navigation Bar
There are more settings available on the top navigation bar
Wall: Share your messages, useful links, files, and/or images to the group.
- Group members have the option to schedule a group wall post to be published on a specified date.
- The files and pictures that the users upload will be available to download by anyone viewing the post.
- You as a Group Admin have the option to pin a Group post to the top of the Wall. Just click Pin to Top
Discussions: Discussion boards will allow you to have conversations or gather feedback from the group members about specific topics. To start a new discussion, click on Start New Topic and add a Title and Comment.
Library: Use the Group Library to store material relevant to your Group.
Group Members: Use the Group Members tab to view the members of your group, assign administrative permissions to other group members or award them a badge.
Admins: Here you can see the current admins of the group.
Polls: Here you can see the current polls